On Saturday, April 8th, Pursuit of Portraits held its first film meet in partnership with Lomography New York, to lead up to an exhibition for National Film Day (April 12th). The day was jam-packed full of excitement from testing out a variety of Lomography’s Automat Analog & Instant cameras.

We started out early at Brooklyn Brigade studio for an exclusive photo shoot with the PoP and Lomography teams, guest photographers (@cvatik, @pumpkinspicenyc & @austinrogers) and models (@boufyy, @litaflita, @denny623, @ramonnunez_ & @kathryntcarter). The studio was an ideal location for film experimentation, and learning about the cameras. The outfits were styled by @dennistejero and @denny623.

Toward the afternoon, we headed over to the Prospect Park Boathouse in Brooklyn to kickoff "Pursuit of Film": PoP's first film meet! The meet drew in a crowd of approximately 200 creatives including seasoned film photographers and first-timers. Those in attendance were given the opportunity to test over 30 film analogue cameras and a few dozen instant cameras. (Film & developing was all inclusive.)

On Wednesday, April 12th, the best photos from the meet were featured at a photo exhibition showcasing the diverse talent of both the Lomography and Pursuit of Portraits communities. Held at the Lomography store in NYC on National Film Day, the exhibit was up for public viewing from April 12th through to May 4th. Three lucky winners were announced on Sunday, May 7th towards portrait challenges for "Pursuit of Film". Congrats to @debunknyc for being the overall winner and Runners-Up @paolodelcastillo & @butimasian.

Written by Jessica Rosen for PoP

Recap Video from "Pursuit of Film"

Video by Lester Platt Productions

Some photos from "Pursuit of Film"

Photos by: Richard Dimaggio, Juan Alicante, Deiondre Smith, Dennis Tejero, Derek Cuellar, Carlos Juarbe, George Ortiz, Karoline Pimentel, Alisha Roth, Amy Silahtar, Brianna Hunt, Eddie Grant, Aundre Larrow, Christian Garcia, Greg Pallante, Lewis Catalano, Dan Bun, Mauricio Aguayo, Dennis Tejero, Michael Perez, Anisha Sisodia, Jessica Rosen, Neivy Hilario, Saunak Shah.